Library on the Web – 23 Things Kansas

I’ve had an account on Library Thing for a couple of years but haven’t been very active on it. Last fall, I imported the new fiction titles. At times, I’ve tried to find groups that discuss young adult fiction and titles for boys. As part of my 23 Things Kansas project, I did a quick search for a comparison of Shelfari and Library Thing discovering the blog post, Shelfari and Library Things: First Impressions. This post pointed out that Shelfari is more graphical and consumer oriented.

Now, I’m going to investigate Shelfari. I’ve exported my books from Library Thing and imported them into Shelfari. I think I need to use Twitter or Facebook to find out which groups are being used by other school librarians.

I think these sites have lots of potential to promote the library collection and for selection.

Leave a Reply

