Screencasting – 23 Things Kansas

I’ve used Jing to create a couple of tutorials for use at NV. This is a piece of software that I don’t use as often as I probably should. Since my teachers seem to prefer printed directions, I tend to take advantage of not having to record my voice. One of the Jing tutorials I created was on how to use the free program, PaintNet, to resize a picture.

Paint.Net – Resizing Pictures

When creating directions, I often use another free program, Gadwin Print Screen. This program allows me to capture and area of the screen and paste it into a document.

Jing provides the potential to develop short how-to videos for a variety of computer tasks. In the library situation, these videos could show patrons how to make an ILL request, place a hold on a book, or search the online catalog. Creating short tutorials on how to use web sites or computer software would also be a beneficial use of Jing. Now, I just have to find the time and be willing to put my voice on the video – OR – better yet, find a student to create them for me.

Leave a Reply

